What you will learn
On this pageContentsCloseOpen
You have 200 influencers and you need 200 different codes. Or 50,000 insert cards, each with a code that dies the moment it is used once. You open Shopify's Discounts page, and there is a button labeled Generate code. Singular. One click, one code.
So you search, and every article you find says the same thing: Shopify can't do this, install an app. That answer is technically right and practically misleading, because it hides the part that determines which app you should buy and how much you should pay.
What Shopify actually does natively
Shopify's platform already supports many codes under one discount. DiscountCodeBasic exposes codes as a paginated connection of DiscountRedeemCode objects and a codesCount field. Checkout redeems any of them against the same parent rules. Reporting rolls them up together.
The gap is the admin interface. When you create a code discount, Shopify's own Help Center gives you exactly two options: type a name, or click Generate code to get one random string. There is no bulk screen.
This confuses experienced people. In a March 2025 Shopify Community thread, a commenter described a Discounts > Create discount set flow in detail. Two weeks later they retracted it: "I actually re-checked it myself and even I am surprised it is not there." The original poster had already posted a screenshot proving the absence.
The one native bulk path is the GraphQL Admin API mutation discountRedeemCodeBulkAdd, which runs asynchronously and is capped at 250 codes per call. That cap isn't discount-specific — shopify.dev states that "input arguments that accept an array have a maximum size of 250 for all APIs." Ten thousand codes means 40 calls plus job polling. That is developer work, and it is the entire reason this app category exists.
The ceiling nobody mentions
Shopify's Help Center states: "There's a cumulative limit of 20,000,000 unique discount codes for each store." Then it closes the obvious escape hatch: "Third-party apps and custom solutions cannot bypass or increase this limit."
Two things about that number matter more than its size.
It is cumulative, not concurrent. Expired codes count. Scheduled codes count. Deactivated codes count. The only way to free space is deletion.
And no app in this category advertises bulk deletion of the codes it generated. Six listings, zero cleanup features. A store generating 250,000 codes a month reaches the ceiling in under seven years and has no tooling to walk it back.
The two checkboxes that are not the same thing
This is the most common and most expensive misunderstanding in the topic.
Limit number of times this discount can be used in total is what makes a code single-use. Shopify's Help Center describes it at the discount level — a limit of 200 lets the code be used 200 times across your customer base — and does not spell out how it behaves across a multi-code set. Seguno's support documentation, which is the clearest published account of that behaviour, says the limit applies to each code in the set and that "setting the value to 1 ensures each code can be redeemed only once." That matches what merchants report, but it is vendor documentation rather than a Shopify statement, so test it on a small set before you send 50,000 cards to print.
Limit to one per customer is a different control entirely. It operates across the whole discount and tracks the customer's email address or phone number. A shopper who redeems BFCM-15 is then blocked from BFCM-15A, BFCM-15B, and every other code under that parent — which is exactly wrong if you're mailing one unique code per household and expect repeat purchasers.
Related trap: deleting a discount and recreating an identical one resets the one-per-customer history. Everyone who already redeemed can redeem again. If a campaign goes sideways, "delete and rebuild" is a margin leak, not a fix.
Export works. Import doesn't.
Shopify exports discounts to CSV from the admin. It does not accept them. The Help Center is blunt: "You can't import discount codes to your store using CSV files."
That asymmetry is why several of these apps lead with CSV import. If you already have a list — codes your print vendor generated, codes an agency issued, codes migrated from another platform — native Shopify has no way in.
What Shopify Plus does and does not change
Nothing in this area is Plus-gated. What Plus buys is API throughput: 1,000 GraphQL points per second versus 100 on Basic and Grow, and 200 on Advanced. The same 200,000-code job simply finishes sooner. Seguno's own FAQ points at the practical effect, though with a condition attached — it says code sets generate faster "if you're on Shopify Plus with the Grow plan," meaning Seguno's own Grow tier.
The irony is that Plus merchants pay more for most of these apps, not less. Details below.
When you don't need an app at all
Two carve-outs worth stating plainly, because the listicles never do.
If one shared code per partner is acceptable — JANE20 for Jane, MIKE20 for Mike — native Shopify handles it. Set a total-use cap for margin protection and accept that the code can leak to coupon sites. A surprising share of small influencer programs never needs more than this.
If you have engineering on staff and a one-off need, discountRedeemCodeBulkAdd at 250 codes per call is roughly a half-day script. A single 5,000-code job doesn't justify a subscription.
Everything after this point assumes you need unique codes, repeatedly, without writing code.
Six apps, compared on what actually differs
All figures verified from the en-US App Store listings on September 2, 2026. Ratings and review counts on this category drift week to week — re-check before you commit.
| Bulk Discount Code Bot | Bulk Discount Codes Generator | Bulk Discount Code Generator | BulkBunny︱ Bulk Discount Codes | MyBulk ‑ Bulk Discount Creator | Amai Bulk Discount Codes | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Developer | Seguno | UAB Xantho | Entafix | App Attic | Space Squirrel Ltd. | Amai |
| Built for Shopify | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | No |
| Rating (reviews) | 4.9 (258) | 5.0 (57) | 5.0 (35) | 4.4 (4) | 4.4 (142) | 4.4 (8) |
| What meters the plan | Discount sets on free tier | Nothing — flat rate | Codes per month | Total codes on free tier | Codes per generated set | Your own Shopify plan |
| Entry price | Free (3 sets) | $9.85/month | Free (250 codes/month) | Free (10,000 codes) | Free to install + $1/job | $6.95/month |
| Unlimited price | $19/month | $9.85/month | $14.99/month | $14.99/month | n/a | $6.95–$19.95/month |
| Free trial | 10 days | 7 days | None (free plan) | None | None | None |
| Shopify Plus | Basic unavailable → $99/month | No surcharge | No surcharge | $34.99 vs $14.99 | No surcharge | $19.95 tier |
| CSV export | Yes | Yes | Yes, plus XLSX | Handled by Shopify | Yes | Not stated |
| CSV / bulk import | Yes, paste 20k or CSV | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Yes |
| Shopify Flow | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | No |
| Analytics | Best in class | No | Pro tier and up | No | No | No |
| Bulk deletion | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Note the name collision before you go shopping: Entafix's app is Bulk Discount Code Generator and UAB Xantho's is Bulk Discount Codes Generator. One letter apart. A third app entirely, SaleX, owns the bulk-discount-code-generator URL slug.
Bulk Discount Code Bot

Source: Shopify App Store (Bulk Discount Code Bot), retrieved September 2, 2026
The only app here that answers "which channel drove this revenue." Revenue, redemptions, and AOV by campaign and channel; a discount risk audit that flags missing expirations and eligibility gaps; Klaviyo and Gorgias integrations. Codes stay redeemable after you cancel — pausing only stops you creating new sets.
The catch is structural. The $19/month Basic plan's first feature bullet reads, verbatim, "Not available for Shopify Plus." Plus merchants start at $99/month, and Klaviyo and Gorgias sit on that tier anyway. Across roughly 258 reviews the negative pool is tiny, but one developer reply is worth stealing: set creation fails when "the number of codes requested is not possible due to the chosen code length." If a large batch errors, lengthen the pattern before you file a ticket.
Bulk Discount Codes Generator

Source: Shopify App Store (Bulk Discount Codes Generator), retrieved September 2, 2026
Marketed as "Dyno," though that name appears nowhere in the official listing title. One plan, $9.85/month, unlimited generation, CSV in and CSV out — bidirectional CSV stated plainly on the listing, and the direct answer to Shopify's export-only limitation. Seguno documents CSV import too, so this isn't unique; it's just the cheapest place to get it.
No Flow, no Klaviyo, no analytics dashboard. It also generates codes but not shareable discount links; one merchant said in the only four-star review that they "ended up making new links in Sheets, but that can be tricky with formulas and hyperlink formatting" — 4,000 of them. With 57 reviews it has no ratings below four stars at all, which is a smaller base than Seguno's and should be read that way.
This is the sharpest recommendation in the category: if you're on Shopify Plus, this is the cheapest unlimited option, because it's the only one that doesn't surcharge Plus. $9.85 against $99, $34.99, and $19.95.
Bulk Discount Code Generator

Source: Shopify App Store (Bulk Discount Code Generator), retrieved September 2, 2026
The best price-to-volume ratio here, and the only recurring free tier that includes real generation: 250 codes every month at no cost. Premium is $2.99/month for 5,000 codes, Pro is $4.99/month for 10,000 plus a stats dashboard, Unlimited is $14.99/month. Annual billing saves 16–17%. It is also the only app in the set exporting XLSX as well as CSV, which matters if you're handing files to a print vendor.
Two cautions. The quotas reset monthly, so a merchant who needs one 50,000-code batch a year has to buy Unlimited for a month regardless. And the listing requests unusually broad data access, including all order history plus geolocation and IP data — worth a look if you run a tight data-minimization policy. Its 35 reviews are all five stars, which is a small and perfect base rather than a proven one.
BulkBunny︱ Bulk Discount Codes

Source: Shopify App Store (BulkBunny︱ Bulk Discount Codes), retrieved September 2, 2026
The most generous free tier for a single campaign: "Create up to 10,000 codes in 3 sets" for $0. If you have one influencer drop or one print run and no recurring need, this may be the whole answer.
Beyond that, Plus stores pay $34.99/month against $14.99 for identical features plus priority support. With four reviews there is no pattern to report — but App Attic's reply to their one-star review is a useful clarification for the whole category: "the code export … is handled by Shopify, not by our app." Seguno told a reviewer the same thing in 2021. When an app lists CSV export, check whether it exports codes itself or hands you back to Shopify's native discount export.
MyBulk ‑ Bulk Discount Creator

Source: Shopify App Store (MyBulk ‑ Bulk Discount Creator), retrieved September 2, 2026
The oldest app in the category, launched October 2017. Reviews from late 2017 and early 2018 describe it as the paid replacement for a free Shopify-provided bulk discount tool that was taken down — the listing itself doesn't say so, but that's the story its earliest merchants tell. It is the only pay-per-job option here: "$1 set with up to 10,000 codes, $3 up to 100k, $5 up to 250k." It also states the highest single-batch ceiling anywhere — "Create up to 250,000 codes in one go" — and integrates with Shopify Flow.
The arithmetic is startling. A merchant generating 100,000 codes twice a year pays $6 annually against $228 on Seguno Basic.
The reliability record is the problem, and it is current rather than historical. iHeartRaves, a US merchant of roughly eight years on the app, wrote in January 2026: "WHY IS THERE ALWAYS AN ERROR WHEN CREATING THE CODES." FIGS, also long-tenured, reported in December 2025 that codes were "incredibly slow to generate. Takes hours for one batch," with a stuck batch blocking a second one from running. A 2022 reviewer loaded a large list with the wrong discount type and found "no way to correct it at all"; deleting and re-adding left the codes invalid for 3,800 customers. Space Squirrel has not publicly replied to any of its 21 low-star reviews.
There is a separate cluster of pricing complaints — roughly nine of them — but they date from 2017 and early 2018, when the app moved off Shopify's free tool. Don't read those as current.
Use this app for rare, enormous, non-urgent batches. Do not use it for anything with a BFCM deadline attached.
Amai Bulk Discount Codes

Source: Shopify App Store (Amai Bulk Discount Codes), retrieved September 2, 2026
Priced by your own Shopify plan rather than by usage: $6.95/month on Basic, $8.95 on Grow, $12.95 on Advanced, $19.95 on Plus. That $6.95 is the lowest entry price in the category. There is no free plan and no free trial, so you pay to evaluate. CSV export is not stated in the listing bullets, only implied by a category tag — treat it as unconfirmed.
With eight reviews, nothing here generalizes. But one of them produced the most useful sentence in this entire research pass. A US merchant reported in October 2024 that the app "only allows up to 7000 discount codes and this is not advertised anywhere," on a plan sold as "Unlimited Code Generation." Amai's reply denies an app-side cap and attributes it to a Shopify timeout when generating around 7,000 codes in a single run, advising merchants to split into batches.
Take that as the category's real lesson rather than one vendor's problem: unlimited means unlimited in aggregate, not unlimited in one run. Plan large campaigns as several batches regardless of which app you pick.
Choosing
One shared code per partner is fine → stay native, no app.
One bounded campaign, 10,000 codes or fewer, $0 budget → BulkBunny's free tier, or Entafix's free tier if you need 250 or fewer per month on an ongoing basis.
Steady moderate volume, cost-sensitive → Bulk Discount Code Generator by Entafix. $4.99/month for 10,000 codes with analytics is unmatched, unless its order-history scope is a problem for you.
You need attribution, not just codes → Bulk Discount Code Bot. If you're already on Klaviyo or Gorgias and running recurring campaigns, nothing else here answers the reporting question.
You're on Shopify Plus → Bulk Discount Codes Generator by UAB Xantho, $9.85/month. The Plus surcharges elsewhere are large and arbitrary.
Rare, enormous, non-urgent batches → MyBulk, with the reliability caveat above taken seriously.
And whichever you choose: plan your exit from the 20,000,000-code ceiling on day one. Nothing on this list will clean up after you.
Sources
- Shopify Help Center — Discount codes
- Shopify Help Center — Percentage and fixed amount discounts
- Shopify Help Center — Export discount codes
- Shopify Help Center — Managing discounts
- Shopify Help Center — Automatic discounts
- shopify.dev — discountRedeemCodeBulkAdd
- shopify.dev — API rate limits
- shopify.dev — Build discount experiences
- Seguno — Bulk Discount Code Bot FAQ
- Shopify Community — How to generate enormous amount of discount codes
- Shopify App Store listings and review pages for all six apps, en-US locale, retrieved September 2, 2026
The Customer object has no date-of-birth field, but Shopify ships a standard metafield definition named Birth date with the reserved key facts.birth_date, a customer segment function anniversary('metafields.facts.birth_date') that ignores the year, and a Celebrate customer birthday automation in Shopify Messaging. The native chain works end to end — storage, segment, send. What it does not solve is collection: Shopify Forms writes to a metafield you configure, the Plus-only Checkout Blocks Birthday template writes to an order metafield and, per Shopify's own note, does not apply it to the customer profile, and letting customers edit their own birth date in new customer accounts needs an extension or an app. Five real apps compared with USD pricing. Researched September 3, 2026.